Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Oct Tue 19, 2021 4:29 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Need a Selector switch or compatible for a Knight RF650
PostPosted: Jun Wed 05, 2019 5:50 am 
New Member

Joined: Jun Wed 05, 2019 5:34 am
Posts: 8
Hello
I got a Knight KG650 in a lot of test equipment . its missing a few knobs and for some reason the selector switch.
I was wonder can i just get another 5 position selector switch ( ie ebay) or does it have to be the selector switch that came with the unit ( part # 432206)
just starting out in this and going to be asking a lot of questions


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need a Selector switch or compatible for a Knight RF650
PostPosted: Jun Wed 05, 2019 12:38 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov Wed 30, 2016 7:35 pm
Posts: 11087
Location: Sunbury, Ohio 43074
The selector switch is probably custom for the instrument. The schematic will tell you the layout of each switch section. I cannot check it here...

Might be able to adapt some other but would need a bit of design work if it’s a soecial

_________________
Preserving the hist. of electronics, one boat anchor at a time! :)
https://www.bbtvtestequipment.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need a Selector switch or compatible for a Knight RF650
PostPosted: Jun Wed 05, 2019 12:55 pm 
Member

Joined: Sep Tue 30, 2014 6:08 am
Posts: 5955
Location: Norfolk, VA
The switch is two section, 5 pole with a special wiper. You'd be better served buying another, whole instrument....

Attachment:
KG650.gif
KG650.gif [ 35.02 KiB | Viewed 851 times ]



There are some on eBay:

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_odkw=k ... 0&_sacat=0

no affiliation....

_________________
Brian
"Capacitor Cosmetologist since 1979"
USN Retired 1984-2006 (Avionics/Cal)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need a Selector switch or compatible for a Knight RF650
PostPosted: Jun Wed 05, 2019 12:59 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov Wed 30, 2016 7:35 pm
Posts: 11087
Location: Sunbury, Ohio 43074
Looks like you could adapt a 4 deck 7 position switch cut I tend to agree with the “find another one” philosophy

_________________
Preserving the hist. of electronics, one boat anchor at a time! :)
https://www.bbtvtestequipment.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need a Selector switch or compatible for a Knight RF650
PostPosted: Jun Wed 05, 2019 1:42 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 27847
Location: Detroit, MI USA
I have a parts unit, it's the earlier version with the dark grey panel but the switch ought to be the same. Looking at it, you'd need to have an exact replacement for the original part due to the unique design of the contacts and the shorting segments.

_________________
Dennis

Experience is what you gain when the results aren't what you were expecting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need a Selector switch or compatible for a Knight RF650
PostPosted: Jun Wed 05, 2019 3:00 pm 
Member

Joined: Sep Tue 30, 2014 6:08 am
Posts: 5955
Location: Norfolk, VA
Barry H Bennett wrote:
Looks like you could adapt a 4 deck 7 position switch cut I tend to agree with the “find another one” philosophy

Why seven position?

It's only 5 - it switches the ranges.

Attachment:
KG650.gif
KG650.gif [ 31 KiB | Viewed 836 times ]


All other terminals are common or wipers. Terminal 7 and it's wiper short out unused coils, leaving only the selected range active.

_________________
Brian
"Capacitor Cosmetologist since 1979"
USN Retired 1984-2006 (Avionics/Cal)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need a Selector switch or compatible for a Knight RF650
PostPosted: Jun Wed 05, 2019 3:08 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov Wed 30, 2016 7:35 pm
Posts: 11087
Location: Sunbury, Ohio 43074
one little mistake ................ Of course, the other issue is if the replacement switch indexing matches the instrument panel markings.

Best to just get a donor unit

_________________
Preserving the hist. of electronics, one boat anchor at a time! :)
https://www.bbtvtestequipment.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need a Selector switch or compatible for a Knight RF650
PostPosted: Jun Thu 06, 2019 2:51 am 
New Member

Joined: Jun Wed 05, 2019 5:34 am
Posts: 8
Thanks for the information. I had a feeling it would be a unique part . i guess I will use it for a donor chassis and hopefully get lucky and get another one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need a Selector switch or compatible for a Knight RF650
PostPosted: Jun Fri 07, 2019 7:12 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Tue 10, 2012 8:39 am
Posts: 2806
You can get creative and design something to do the same job. You use one section to select the coil in use, and another to select the other coil. If you don't short to ground the unused coils it will still work. So a two pole 5 position can be used. Those are readily available. Just make sure the knob will fit and the detents are spaced the correct angle to match panel marking.

Search on ebay.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


































Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB