Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Dec Mon 09, 2019 3:26 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Eico 460s Solid State Oscilloscope - Schematic?
PostPosted: Nov Tue 12, 2019 3:35 pm 

Hello,

I'm relatively new to electronics repair. I've always had a fascination/interest, but just recently found some YouTube channels and started learning circuit theory. I was given an old Ampeg tube amp, that i've been working on repairing. Then I came across this oscilloscope.

It's Eico 460s Oscilloscope. Apparently, it's a solid state rendition of the 460. I found post about an identical one here and got a few pointers about where to start:
https://antiqueradios.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=351514

I'm looking for a schematic to help diagnose a fuse blowing problem. (Blows 1A fuse after about 5 seconds. No screen display)

Here are some pictures of the circuit board:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/xascMWtfmzGix8o97

I'm guessing that the 6 gray caps are the HV supply caps that I should check first?

Last edited by 4n6Days on Nov Tue 12, 2019 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject: Re: Eico 460s Solid State Oscilloscope - Schematic?
PostPosted: Nov Tue 12, 2019 3:43 pm 

I started this new thread because my previous post about it was in an old thread about a similar one. It seemed better to start a new thread. (Hopefully not a noob mistake...???) I wanted to copy the advice I'd gotten so far as to avoid duplicate info.

From Barry Bennett
Quote:
Troubleshooting a scope without a schematic is going to be extremely challenging. That said, blowing a fuse 5 seconds after startup sounds like a perfect candidate for old power supply filter electrolytics that need to be replaced. Of course, it could be about anything, but that's where I'd start while searching for a schematic.