Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Dec Mon 09, 2019 3:22 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Cushman CE-6A Frequency Range
PostPosted: Nov Sun 17, 2019 3:12 am 
Member

Joined: Aug Mon 09, 2010 2:57 am
Posts: 567
Location: York PA.
I thought this bit of info would be easy to find on the web, but it appears not to be.

Just need to know the range; I have the offer of one for free but from what I'm seeing it has limited HF ability.

_________________
73 Mark K3MSB
www.k3msb.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cushman CE-6A Frequency Range
PostPosted: Nov Sun 17, 2019 8:25 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3680
Location: Monterey California USA
A CE-6A for free would be great to rescue.

The frequency range is a bit difficult to explain. These are more or less VHF-UHF two-way shop instruments, and the usual use would be 20 MHz-1000 MHz. BUT... the manual states that it generates 10 kHz to 1000 MHz. Some features require things like the broadband mixer plug-in and those start at 20 Mhz.

There was an HF plug-in divider thing that brought all features down into the HF range but that may have been for the CE-4 or CE-3. I am not sure you need it on a 6.

The generate aspect of these instruments isn't exactly a pure signal on only one spot frequency, to put it kindly. But they have their uses and are well worth getting.

The 6A has a high output feature, which at the time was usually used when tuning duplexers.

_________________
WB6NVH
California Highway Patrol Radio
Bell System Mobile Telephone History
http://www.wb6nvh.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cushman CE-6A Frequency Range
PostPosted: Nov Tue 19, 2019 5:32 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov Mon 02, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 3848
Location: Lincoln City, OR 97367
Greetings to Mark and the Forum:

The CE-6A generator according to the manual covers from .01 MHz to 999.999 MHz. The monitor portion is the same, depending on what mixer plug-in is in the unit. My mixer is a 317, which covers from 50 KHz to 1000 MHz.

I don't have manuals on any other front end plug-ins; they may be more restrictive.

Be sure to acquire the manuals that go with the unit if they are available. Cushman did engineering changes at the drop of a hat; it is almost true that no two units are absolutely identical. If you can obtain the manuals issued with the unit, you will have a considerable leg up on maintenance.

I had to reverse engineer the 100 Hz phase lock loop on mine due to the rather cryptic theory of operation discussion and almost complete lack of alignment instructions. The complete write-ups are on my web page at http://www.centcoast.com.

Regards.

_________________
Jim T.
KB6GM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cushman CE-6A Frequency Range
PostPosted: Nov Fri 22, 2019 7:03 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23196
Location: Somers, CT
Free and Working.... grab it. CE-6 is a decent unit... a bit dated, but better than the CE-5 I use for a doorstop. Also have a CSM-50A gathering dust like most of the other test gear these days.

Pete

_________________
Just because it can be done doesn't mean it should be done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cushman CE-6A Frequency Range
PostPosted: Nov Fri 22, 2019 8:09 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Tue 10, 2012 8:39 am
Posts: 790
So what good is my FM-10C? It's too big for the bench.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cushman CE-6A Frequency Range
PostPosted: Nov Sat 23, 2019 6:40 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov Mon 02, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 3848
Location: Lincoln City, OR 97367
Greetings to bob1943 and the Forum:
bob91343 wrote:
So what good is my FM-10C? It's too big for the bench.

Where are you located? I'm sure our local ham club would love to have it! :D

Regards,

_________________
Jim T.
KB6GM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cushman CE-6A Frequency Range
PostPosted: Nov Sat 23, 2019 7:00 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Tue 10, 2012 8:39 am
Posts: 790
I live in the San Fernando Valley. My unit has some issues but seems basically to work. Since we get chastised for trading stuff outside of specific forums, reply in PM to avoid such.

Check me at qrz.com

Bob K6DDX


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Thewasp, Tony L and 7 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB