Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Oct Wed 27, 2021 4:45 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Precision 612 tube tester problem
PostPosted: Sep Sat 04, 2021 3:58 pm 
Member

Joined: May Sat 12, 2007 5:14 pm
Posts: 192
Location: LONG ISLAND NY
i have a precision model 612 tube tester the line voltage will not adjust too the center line it comes near but will not adjust too line with or with out vaccum tube in place i tried cleaning the rheostat but no change anyone have any ideas thanks Greg wa2oro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Precision 612 tube tester problem
PostPosted: Sep Sat 04, 2021 6:04 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Tue 10, 2012 8:39 am
Posts: 2820
Must be a rectifier problem. Measure the filament voltage to see if it's also low, or normal.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Precision 612 tube tester problem
PostPosted: Sep Sat 04, 2021 6:34 pm 
Member

Joined: May Sat 12, 2007 5:14 pm
Posts: 192
Location: LONG ISLAND NY
hi Bob i checked out the tube 5y3 it was ok but i will check the voltage and maybe just try replacing the 5y3 thanks greg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Precision 612 tube tester problem
PostPosted: Sep Sun 05, 2021 3:20 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Mon 04, 2013 4:24 am
Posts: 376
Location: Houston Texas 77077
CLEG wrote:
hi Bob i checked out the tube 5y3 it was ok but i will check the voltage and maybe just try replacing the 5y3 thanks greg


It is rare that the rectifier tube goes bad, it has a light duty life. More likely that the line voltage control is bad, to test it unsolder one of the
3 outer wires then you can check it with an ohm meter. It should read close to 300 Ohms. Also possible that you have a bad meter.
These are the usual items that could cause your problem.
Bill


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Precision 612 tube tester problem
PostPosted: Sep Sun 05, 2021 3:34 pm 
Member

Joined: May Sat 12, 2007 5:14 pm
Posts: 192
Location: LONG ISLAND NY
hi Prutser good idea will check for 300 ohms also there is a pot that controls the plate voltage for the 5y3 should be 300vdc if that is off it might effect the line voltage reading thanks greg


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 8bitmime and 15 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


































Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB