Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Dec Wed 08, 2021 11:22 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Need assistance with GE phonograph
PostPosted: Nov Sun 22, 2020 8:03 am 
New Member

Joined: Nov Sun 22, 2020 7:58 am
Posts: 2
I just purchased a GE model A424h and am needing a needle and the auto load skips to the middle of the record and does not “lay down” at the beginning. I purchased it for $20 record player works and radio works do not have any 8 tracks but assuming it works as well. Just needing info
What year it was made, what type of needle and what can be done for me to fix the auto load?


Attachments:
3D8F83D1-CD52-4EEB-B784-069B6CE940E2.jpeg
3D8F83D1-CD52-4EEB-B784-069B6CE940E2.jpeg [ 670.79 KiB | Viewed 786 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need assistance with GE phonograph
PostPosted: Nov Sun 22, 2020 3:04 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Fri 06, 2012 8:47 pm
Posts: 7616
Jamik3 wrote:
I just purchased a GE model A424h and am needing a needle and the auto load skips to the middle of the record and does not “lay down” at the beginning.
First, welcome to the forums.

Needles can be a bit tricky to find. Others here might have a better idea, but there are sites like this https://needlefinder.net/ where you can look up needles by picture assuming you have the old one to compare. Now time for sticker shock. The needle alone will probably cost you $20 if you can find one.

With regard to the failure to sit down at the begining of the record, there is usually a trip lever that comes up out of the turntable near the point where the hold down arm and tone arm are attached. It looks kind of like a flat metal arrow about 1 to 2 inches tall. When the record falls, if it bumps that trip lever it lets the mechanism know that the record is the LP size. It does this by tripping a mechanism underneath the turntable. This is probably not functioning properly because of a need for lubrication. Past that I can't be of much help because I am not familiar with your specific turntable.

Best of luck.

Curtis Eickerman

_________________
http://curtiseickerman.weebly.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need assistance with GE phonograph
PostPosted: Nov Sun 22, 2020 7:15 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Wed 16, 2013 12:04 am
Posts: 2578
Location: 77001
Jamik3 wrote:
I just purchased a GE model A424h and am needing a needle and the auto load skips to the middle of the record and does not “lay down” at the beginning.

Welcome to the Phono Forum.

1. Check the model number again.

I could not locate it in usual databases.

2. Take a good clear photo of the entire record changer.

A model number for it would be good, also.
The model number most likely will be on a paper tag
or ink stamped under the changer base.
You'll need to remove rear console cover to access
visually.

3. If the tonearm will lift up, then take a sharp photo of the
stereo cartridge in the arm.


4. The record changer will need to be removed from the
cabinet and a thorough cleaning done of the cycling mech.

Your changer's symptoms are the result of 50+ years of
old grease oxidizing and hardening.

No short cut for this.

5. If you are mechanically inclined, we will guide
you through that once we can determine which
changer you have in the console.
Hotwax


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need assistance with GE phonograph
PostPosted: Nov Sun 22, 2020 9:47 pm 
New Member

Joined: Nov Sun 22, 2020 7:58 am
Posts: 2
We will definitely give it a good cleaning we were just trying it out yesterday on the 5 albums that can with it. The radio and 8 track both work with no issue. The on/off button for the phonograph seems to stick but again this is probably years of dust/oil and grime.
Thank for your help I have attached photos for the serial number and model number paper in the back
Pictures of the top and underside of the tonal arm and needle and a picture of the turn table itself.
Thanks again!


Attachments:
09C4619A-3A71-4699-B673-1384ECBDDE6B.jpeg
09C4619A-3A71-4699-B673-1384ECBDDE6B.jpeg [ 3.18 MiB | Viewed 743 times ]
71F60121-6547-475E-B613-3A0749DB02FA.jpeg
71F60121-6547-475E-B613-3A0749DB02FA.jpeg [ 3.56 MiB | Viewed 743 times ]
F56291EF-A431-41DF-B841-4B7D0CC2495D.jpeg
F56291EF-A431-41DF-B841-4B7D0CC2495D.jpeg [ 2.64 MiB | Viewed 743 times ]
302903AC-176E-4CDF-BFF5-D7F7EE2E67D9.jpeg
302903AC-176E-4CDF-BFF5-D7F7EE2E67D9.jpeg [ 2.43 MiB | Viewed 743 times ]
49D0B27D-6800-48BB-A785-6369140CE6D6.jpeg
49D0B27D-6800-48BB-A785-6369140CE6D6.jpeg [ 1.61 MiB | Viewed 743 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need assistance with GE phonograph
PostPosted: Nov Mon 23, 2020 3:37 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Wed 16, 2013 12:04 am
Posts: 2578
Location: 77001
Great Photos.

Now we have the correct model #.
So, your G.E. console is from 1971.
Circuit chassis # is PK 160.

I found an OEM service file for the record
changer, which I researched to be
an RD600 series.

There were 3 different phono carts used in those
record changers. I cannot tell from photo which
yours is.

Send me a PM with your email, and I'll send the
service file to you to review.
It's very complete.

Hotwax


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need assistance with GE phonograph
PostPosted: Nov Mon 23, 2020 3:41 am 
Member

Joined: Dec Mon 23, 2019 5:52 pm
Posts: 670
The knob at the base of the support arm sets the correct record size, 7 inch, 10 inch, or 12 inch. Make sure it's linkage isn't "gunked" up.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need assistance with GE phonograph
PostPosted: Nov Mon 23, 2020 3:56 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Fri 06, 2012 8:47 pm
Posts: 7616
I suspect this may be your needle ($9.95)... https://www.ebay.com/itm/262457957855?c ... gLAtvD_BwE
Attachment:
Needle.png
Needle.png [ 447.2 KiB | Viewed 691 times ]
No guarantee. You might want to see how it measures relative to yours.

Curtis Eickerman

_________________
http://curtiseickerman.weebly.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need assistance with GE phonograph
PostPosted: Nov Mon 23, 2020 4:03 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Fri 06, 2012 8:47 pm
Posts: 7616
rcadanny wrote:
The knob at the base of the support arm sets the correct record size, 7 inch, 10 inch, or 12 inch. Make sure it's linkage isn't "gunked" up.
And the indicator in the picture looks like it is in the 10" position rather and 12" for an LP.
Attachment:
Size.png
Size.png [ 370.19 KiB | Viewed 688 times ]
Curtis Eickerman

_________________
http://curtiseickerman.weebly.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 8 posts ]  Moderator: Alan Voorhees

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




































Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB