Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Nov Mon 29, 2021 6:01 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Toyota Tacoma HF Radio Power
PostPosted: Sep Mon 13, 2021 5:07 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 943
Location: Walden, NY USA
Hello All
I want to use my 100 watt Alinco DX 70 in a field set up, powered by my 2021 Totyota Tacoma. I was wondering if I can power the radio (Transmit) using the power connector supplied for the trailer on the rear of the truck. Is that power connector supply enough amperage for the radio? I know it powers the trailer tail lights.
I was considering just using large alligator clips to connect directly to the car battery, but thought that the connector may be an easier source.

_________________
Mike
W2MDM
http://mikesradiosandstuff.weebly.com/index.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toyota Tacoma HF Radio Power
PostPosted: Sep Mon 13, 2021 6:08 pm 
Member

Joined: Aug Fri 22, 2008 9:42 pm
Posts: 205
Location: Long Island, NY
A 100W radio can draw about 20 amps on transmit peaks. The usually procedure for radios of this power level is to connect cables directly to the battery, using a minimum of a #12 fused cable. I don't think the trailer wiring is sufficient for this type of power requirement.

Harvey, WA2AAE

_________________
Harv, WA2AAE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toyota Tacoma HF Radio Power
PostPosted: Sep Mon 13, 2021 6:27 pm 
Member

Joined: May Tue 30, 2006 4:46 pm
Posts: 11015
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
+1 The current draw is pretty substantial.

If you are running SSB, MFJ used to sell a capacitor bank that would handle the peak currents on voice peaks. Average current on SSB is pretty low, probably less than 10 Amps.

https://mfjenterprises.com/products/mfj-4403

I don't own one so can't comment on effectiveness.

Rich


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toyota Tacoma HF Radio Power
PostPosted: Sep Mon 13, 2021 6:50 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug Thu 26, 2021 8:07 am
Posts: 97
Location: Ukraine
I highly recommend to read this site https://www.k0bg.com/

_________________
i'm not sad i'm sober


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toyota Tacoma HF Radio Power
PostPosted: Sep Mon 13, 2021 7:59 pm 
Member

Joined: Aug Mon 17, 2009 4:11 pm
Posts: 3914
Location: DFW Texas
Also check your manual. My F-150 has a chart of the locations where on the truck reduced power is suggested. In other words not all of the computers are in the same location.

_________________
The lucky ones realize the "Good Ole Days" while they are still in them!
AA5LP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toyota Tacoma HF Radio Power
PostPosted: Sep Tue 14, 2021 6:03 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 943
Location: Walden, NY USA
US7IGN wrote:
I highly recommend to read this site https://www.k0bg.com/

A lot of good info there, thanks!

_________________
Mike
W2MDM
http://mikesradiosandstuff.weebly.com/index.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toyota Tacoma HF Radio Power
PostPosted: Sep Wed 15, 2021 4:33 am 
Member

Joined: Jun Mon 04, 2012 4:20 pm
Posts: 464
I usually install a 40 amp circuit breaker on the trailer 12V supply wire on 7 pin connectors. Might check what the Toyota uses to protect that circuit in the tow connector. The ground and 12V feed are usually 12 gauge or sometimes even 10 gauge wires.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toyota Tacoma HF Radio Power
PostPosted: Sep Fri 17, 2021 3:32 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Sat 24, 2011 9:17 pm
Posts: 8526
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Newer vehicles use the thinnest possible copper wires to save money. So check to see what gauge wiring you have going to the back, might not be up to the load.

_________________
Watch the doughnut, not the hole.
Burl Ives, RIP, oldtimer.
[:l>)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toyota Tacoma HF Radio Power
PostPosted: Sep Fri 17, 2021 12:59 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov Tue 18, 2008 8:34 am
Posts: 1621
Location: Hutchinson,Kansas
I sure would not use the trailer wiring to run a 100 watt rig!


Todd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toyota Tacoma HF Radio Power
PostPosted: Sep Fri 17, 2021 7:12 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 943
Location: Walden, NY USA
Thanks all for your ideas.
It is funny, but I have 2 120V outlets built in the truck bed rated at 400 watts. Thought about plugging in my Kenwood 12v power supply in one and running the radio from that!
12v DC to 120v AC back to 12v DC!

_________________
Mike
W2MDM
http://mikesradiosandstuff.weebly.com/index.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toyota Tacoma HF Radio Power
PostPosted: Sep Thu 23, 2021 4:25 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Sun 23, 2017 11:22 pm
Posts: 1567
Location: 44035 (Near Cleveland Ohio)
Mike DeMeo wrote:
Thanks all for your ideas.
It is funny, but I have 2 120V outlets built in the truck bed rated at 400 watts. Thought about plugging in my Kenwood 12v power supply in one and running the radio from that!
12v DC to 120v AC back to 12v DC!


If your radio draws 20 amps on transmit peaks, you're drawing about 240 watts at 12VDC. The power supply is itself is going to eat up some power by itself. I think you'd be maxing out the system, let alone dealing with less-than-perfect sine waves in the process - - which can drastically reduce the resulting power. The radio was designed to operate on pure DC; anything less will introduce other issues IMHO. I'd just run a line to the battery and be done with it. 10AWG THHN wire would do the trick.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toyota Tacoma HF Radio Power
PostPosted: Sep Sat 25, 2021 1:34 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 943
Location: Walden, NY USA
SparkyDan wrote:
Mike DeMeo wrote:
Thanks all for your ideas.
It is funny, but I have 2 120V outlets built in the truck bed rated at 400 watts. Thought about plugging in my Kenwood 12v power supply in one and running the radio from that!
12v DC to 120v AC back to 12v DC!


If your radio draws 20 amps on transmit peaks, you're drawing about 240 watts at 12VDC. The power supply is itself is going to eat up some power by itself. I think you'd be maxing out the system, let alone dealing with less-than-perfect sine waves in the process - - which can drastically reduce the resulting power. The radio was designed to operate on pure DC; anything less will introduce other issues IMHO. I'd just run a line to the battery and be done with it. 10AWG THHN wire would do the trick.

Dan

That is what I am going to do, Dan. This way I am sure all will be ok, with a separate line, properly fused.
Thanks!

_________________
Mike
W2MDM
http://mikesradiosandstuff.weebly.com/index.html


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 12 posts ]  Moderator: Alan Voorhees

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sal Brisindi and 23 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




































Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB