Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Aug Wed 10, 2022 11:28 am


All times are UTC





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Adding Ferrite Beads to TV-7 Tube Tester to stop Oscillation
PostPosted: May Sat 21, 2022 7:18 pm 
New Member

Joined: May Sat 21, 2022 6:45 pm
Posts: 1
Does anyone have knowledge about adding ferrite bead(s) to a TV-7B/U Tube Tester circuit to stop oscillation in a tube being tested. I'm having problems with an old 6L6GB tube that goes into oscillation when tested on my TV-7B/U tube tester. I know that a ferrite bead is used on a wire going to the 8-pin test socket (I just cant remember the pin #). Thanks for all replies.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding Ferrite Beads to TV-7 Tube Tester to stop Oscilla
PostPosted: May Sat 21, 2022 11:41 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Tue 10, 2012 7:39 am
Posts: 3273
It probably doesn't matter. I'd select the plate or control grid first.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding Ferrite Beads to TV-7 Tube Tester to stop Oscilla
PostPosted: May Sat 21, 2022 11:58 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov Wed 30, 2016 6:35 pm
Posts: 12416
Location: Sunbury, Ohio 43074
Location: Sunbury, Ohio 43074
Some testers use ferrite beads on every lead, to every socket. More's better. If you have the beads, and the time, I'd add them to at least the sockets you use most. I'm not sure if the later TV7's had them or not, but many of the non military Hickoks do.

_________________
Preserving the hist. of electronics, one boat anchor at a time! :)
https://www.bbtvtestequipment.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding Ferrite Beads to TV-7 Tube Tester to stop Oscilla
PostPosted: May Sun 22, 2022 1:39 am 
Member

Joined: Mar Thu 24, 2011 5:23 am
Posts: 643
Location: New Jersey Shore 08724
Location: 08724
My TV-7D/U has them everywhere. I think that’s exclusive to the “D/U” version.

Peace,
DrRick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding Ferrite Beads to TV-7 Tube Tester to stop Oscilla
PostPosted: May Sun 22, 2022 4:00 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Sat 25, 2020 4:23 am
Posts: 1134
Location: Colorado Springs, CO 80917
Location: Colorado Springs, CO 80917
Quote:
6L6GB tube that goes into oscillation


Curious about the observed symptoms when it goes into oscillation. What happens?

FWIW, my Hickok 6000A has ferrite beads on all the socket island leads at the mating plug.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding Ferrite Beads to TV-7 Tube Tester to stop Oscilla
PostPosted: May Sun 22, 2022 5:28 am 
Member

Joined: Dec Sat 28, 2019 3:18 pm
Posts: 1332
Location: Corinth, TX, USA
I have always wondered: Which ferrite beads? Or does it matter?

John


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding Ferrite Beads to TV-7 Tube Tester to stop Oscilla
PostPosted: May Sun 22, 2022 1:13 pm 
Member

Joined: Feb Fri 22, 2008 2:28 am
Posts: 642
I added beads to the 7, 9, and octal tube sockets on a TV-7A. Testing 6DJ8/6922 tubes on the TV-7A was almost impossible without them. Even getting your hand close to that tube would cause the meter to jump upscale during testing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding Ferrite Beads to TV-7 Tube Tester to stop Oscilla
PostPosted: May Sun 22, 2022 1:31 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov Wed 30, 2016 6:35 pm
Posts: 12416
Location: Sunbury, Ohio 43074
Location: Sunbury, Ohio 43074
KX5JSC wrote:
I have always wondered: Which ferrite beads? Or does it matter

In this case, it probably makes little difference which bead you use. You are trying to suppress high frequency oscillations in a circuit where everything else is at relatively very low frequency. Nothing critical here.... other than the fact that they have to fit in there mechanically :)

_________________
Preserving the hist. of electronics, one boat anchor at a time! :)
https://www.bbtvtestequipment.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding Ferrite Beads to TV-7 Tube Tester to stop Oscilla
PostPosted: May Sun 22, 2022 11:05 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Wed 15, 2020 11:29 pm
Posts: 2170
Location: AUSTRALIA
Location: Queensland.
The easy way to do it is to just make a socket adapter with a resistor, typically 4.7k to 10k in series with the g1 grid. You could also place a 47R resistor in series with the anode, or both. This will kill the parasitic oscillations, better than the ferrite beads.

Have you checked the 2700pF capacitor , designed to suppress HF oscillations, in the anode circuit of the tester ?


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: processhead, Scottart and 8 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




































Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB