Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Oct Sat 23, 2021 10:05 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Signal generator.........
PostPosted: Nov Thu 11, 2010 3:20 am 

hi all. since im fairly new to this hobby i was wondering what kind of signal generator you might recommend. i will be using it to align standard am/fm radios. also, what is a fair or average price to pay.

thank you
bert

Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov Thu 11, 2010 3:27 am 

As far as price...I don't know...but I can give you this advice. Do not get a "vintage" piece of equipment. Yes Sir...no tubes. A calibrated output is not necessary but would be nice too.

Query the forum, and you'll get a list of threads. This topic has come up in the past.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov Thu 11, 2010 3:59 am 

AM is easy, FM more complex. I've got an old Philco 077 which was given to me by other forum and SCARS member. After re-capping, it works fine. However, the dial is not accurate, and the amount of variation changes depending on teh band, and dial position. Instead of a frequency counter, I went with an idea I saw on a U-Tube video. I bought a nice phase-locked loop radio at radio shack. I set it to the desired freuency, then clip the signal generator lead to its antenna (or lay the lead close to its antenna), then adjust the signal generator until they are both at the same frequency. You'll understand one you hear such a set-up. Now I have a nice radio which receives all kinds of frequencies, and can accurately set the signal generator.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov Thu 11, 2010 5:13 am 

...and don't buy anything that you can't fix yourself.....well, within reason - if the price is right....... :wink:

There are plenty of 'nice-to-haves'......but you can still do the same with inexpensive gear, but know how to use it!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov Thu 11, 2010 7:18 am